Kimchi and my other ventures into the realm of Asian cuisine

kotatsuThe thing about watching a lot of Korean or Japanese dramas or anime is that after a while you start to pick up some cultural phenomena. And what really caught my attention is eating. Koreans and Japanese always consume something. Basically every episode of every drama ever has people gathered around the table fighting with chopsticks for a bigger chunk of meat etc. There are also all those side-dishes, each on a separate plate. While here in Poland it’s all about getting your fill with a pork chop the size of a plate, there appears to be more finesse and etiquette related to eating in Japan and Korea. Although I’m totally OK with my diet (I could lose few kilos though) some of the Asian dishes I saw did make me salivate a bit so I decided to give them a try.

I’m not a particularly good cook (a tactful way of saying that I don’t really do much cooking at all) but every now and then I do make an effort to produce something edible in the kitchen.
Yesterday was my second time making kimchi. Small portion really, ended up with just one jar. I also reduced the amount of carrot in the thing as previously I strictly followed a kimchi recipe, and then I realized – I pretty much hate carrots other than in the raw state, so what the heck have I done. The first batch wasn’t terrible, but too much radish and the aforementioned carrot kinda ruined it for me. Nonetheless, it got used in a hot stew on few occasions as an additional ingredient and it was a great condiment.

kimchi1kimchi2kimchi4kimchi3This time the balance of vegetables is great but I kinda messed up again. I didn’t rinse the salted cabbage enough, and by the looks of it kimchi is far too salty. It should be fine as a part of other dishes but I don’t think I’ll be able to have the kimchi by itself.

kimchi5Few months ago I made a miso ramen or at least something reminiscent of it. I used dark miso paste, ginger and sesame oil, chicken-beef broth, added an egg, bean sprouts, dried shiitake shrooms, scallions and a piece of pork. My one regret is that I should have made noodles myself instead of getting them from the shop. Overall the dish was very nourishing but the taste of miso is something I wouldn’t like to have every day.

misoramen

My cousin living next door cooked bulgogi twice and they were tasty as hell.

I went to a sushi restaurant few times and I liked it a lot. I bet eating sushi in some Asian countries where the ingredients are fresh would be incredible. I have to add though, I didn’t touch shrimps or the octopus, there’s something really nasty about sea creatures other than fish.

I still love Polish food the most. As I live in the countryside I still have an access to non-processed stuff, aka meat and veggies from local farmers which taste completely different than the same products that appear in the supermarkets. So after all the experimenting it’s good to have a generous bite of kielbasa or fry some blood sausage in the pan. Meat is love.

kielbasabloodsausage

Leave a Reply

